Is it Worth it?

“Is it worth it? Let me work it. I put my thing down flip it and rever-” oh wait. That’s not what this is about.

IMG_20171017_211942
From left to right: Andy Mineo, Marty (Social Club), Wordsplayed, Fern (Social Club)

Recently I had the opportunity to attend a VIP Meet and Greet for some of my favorite artists on the “Friends and Family” tour pictured above; rappers Andy Mineo and Wordsplayed with Social Club Misfits (another one of my favorite artists). I am here to give you my honest opinion on all things VIP so that you can decide whether or not the VIP experience is really worth it.

What is “it” exactly?

It is $75, which is actually not a lot compared to the average price of about $250 for a meet and greet ticket in the US. Let me be clear: I got the VIP package for the concert, which is the most expensive option, and it included early entry, meet and greet with the artist(s), and exclusive (free!) merchandise. This alone makes it more worth it than your average VIP package where you usually just get early entry and a meet greet.

The Meet and Greet

Some artists are better at the meet and greet thing than others, and Andy Mineo is one of the best. The meet and greet started out with a question answer session. Then we all played “Pop-A-Shot” (the miniature basketball game) with him and Wordsplayed for a while—during which things got very competitive and I learned I’m actually not all that bad at it. We then moved on to a bit of one-on-one time where we had the chance to talk with the artists, take photos, and get autographs. They also left the Pop-A-Shot out for the duration of the meet and greet, which was very fun.

Was it Worth It?

Yes, I think it was worth every cent I (or rather my sister) paid for it because there was so much included. We not only got to shake the artists hands and take a picture, but we got to talk with them, have fun, take home several free limited edition items, and we stand in the front row during the concert. As an added bonus, the concert was phenomenal and is definitely in my top five. So, yes, the VIP package for the Friends and Family tour was worth it.

That being said, I don’t think these things are always worth it. Personally, there are some artists who I love, but I would not pay $250 for a picture and their autograph. The value to me depends on what is included with the package, and how big of a fan you are of them. To sum it up, do you; if it’s less than $100 and seems like fun, I say yes, but would I pay $625 to meet Miley Cyrus for 3 minutes? Probably not.

 

by Serena Mickens

Leave a Reply

